Board of Library Trustees

The library is governed by a Board of Trustees, consisting of five members, who are elected for the term of three years each on a staggered basis.  Trustees may receive an annual stipend, the amount of which is recommended by the Board to the Annual Town Meeting for approval. Legal responsibility is vested in the Board, which is the policy-forming body of the institution.

The Board’s responsibilities include selection and appointment of the Director; promotion of library interests; securing of funds; and control of library funds, property and equipment.  Subject to existing statutes and ordinances, it has the power to determine the rules and regulations governing library service and personnel. Regular meetings of the Board are usually held at 7 pm on the second Thursday of each month, and at other times as needed in order to conduct library business. The Director is the principal administrative officer, appointed by and directly responsible to the Board of Trustees.

The Director acts as the professional advisor to the Board and recommends programs, policies and changes; attends all Board meetings; and is responsible for carrying out policies and decisions of the board.  The Director acts as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees. Members of the Board of Trustees and the staff of the Bellingham Public Library are responsible for following all policies adopted by the Board of Trustees. All new policies suggested for adoption or those needing revision shall be discussed at a scheduled Trustees’ meeting and then re-read and voted on at the next scheduled meeting.

Library Board of Trustee By Laws (revised 2018)

The current members of the Board of Library Trustees are:

Amy Bartelloni  Chair, term expires 2019

Nicole Buckley, Vice Chair, term expires 2019

Rebekah Tracy, Secretary, term expires 2020

Laura Howard, term expires 2020

Lisa Cavossa, term expires 2018